Six stage process developed by Checkland to create Root Definition.

  1. C – Clients/customers of system identified i.e. stakeholders.
  2. A – Actors involved in situation – key stakeholders.
  3. T – Transformation involved i.e. what are inputs, what is transformation and what are outputs.
  4. W – Weltanschauung/worldview – set of beliefs brought to the situation.
  5. O – Owners of system.
  6. E – Environment system will function in.

Elements of CATWOE identified and fed into Root Definition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.